2021 Wyoming Summer Camp Information

Welcome Summer Camp families! We have spent many hours planning a safe and fun summer experience for our campers that meets the state health and safety guidelines. Below are some of the procedures that will remain in effect in order to keep both our campers and staff safe and to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

• During drop-off and pick-up parents will remain in their cars.
• Once checked in, campers will wash their hands and then immediately join their counselor and group of campers (10:1 ratio) in their home base room.
• Room assignments and groupings will remain the same for the entire week, with the goal being to limit exposure to others with limited shared equipment.
• Any items brought from home, including their lunches, will be kept in their home base room.
• Most indoor activities will take place in their home base room.
• All staff and campers will be required to wear masks when indoors. Masks will not be required to be worn when campers are outside playing where social distancing can be maintained, or during swim time.
• There will be frequent hand washing and increased sanitizing procedures implemented throughout the day.

ENROLLMENT/REGISTRATION INFORMATION
We are no longer accepting new enrollments.  Thank you for your interest.

There is a one-time camp enrollment fee (per family) required to enroll your child. ALL FORMS MUST BE COMPLETED ONLINE BEFORE REGISTERING YOUR CHILD FOR ANY DAYS/WEEKS AT CAMP. Once the online forms have been submitted, you will be contacted to process your enrollment fee and register for camp days/weeks. You may prepay for the entire summer. After the initial payment, all payments will be made through the front desk or by calling 513.821.5200. The deadline to register without a late fee is two weeks prior to the week attending camp OR until capacity is reached. Refer to the registration deadline schedule for specific dates.

DAYS AND HOURS OF OPERATION
• The Summer Camp program runs Monday through Friday from June 1 thru August 11 for kids entering Kindergarten thru 7th grade. Children must be 5 years old on their first day of camp.
• Programming hours are 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m., though campers may be brought in as early as 7:00 a.m. and picked up as late as 5:30 p.m.
• The Wyoming Summer Camp program closes promptly at 5:30 p.m. Any children remaining past 5:30 p.m. must pay a fine of $25 per occurrence.

PAYMENTS, REFUNDS, LATE FEES
Camp registration payments are due 2 WEEKS prior to the week attending camp and are encouraged to be made over the phone with a credit card.
Enrollment Fee: A one-time $45/45/55 (members/resident/non-resident) enrollment fee per family is required to be paid with the first camp payment.
Weekly Rate: $185/member, $203/resident, $221/non-resident
Daily Rate: $41/member, $45/resident, $49/non-resident
Refunds: If a camper is absent due to illness, a doctor’s note will be required in order to receive a refund. This must be submitted in writing to jpospisil@wyomingohio.gov. Once we have received the doctor’s note, a pro-rated refund in full for the days missed, will be provided. Program cancellation requests must be made in writing with a 48 hour notice.
Late Fees: A late fee of $15 per transaction/family will be assessed if registered after the THURSDAY, TWO WEEKS PRIOR to the week attending camp. You will not be able to register for camp after the Friday before the week attending camp.
Transfers: We do not allow transfers of days.

Please see the registration deadline schedule below to avoid late fees.

Camp Week Registration Deadline Last Day to Register w/Late Fee
Week 1: June 1-4 May 20 May 27
Week 2: June 7-11 May 27 June 3
Week 3: June 14-18 June 3 June 10
Week 4: June 21-25 June 10 June 17
Week 5: June 28-July 2 June 17 June 24
Week 6: July 6-9 June 24 July 1
Week 7: July 12-16 July 1 July 8
Week 8: July 19-23 July 8 July 15
Week 9: July 26-30 July 15 July 22
Week 10: August 2-6 July 22 July 29
Week 11: August 9-11 July 29 August 5

FOOD
Campers MUST bring a packed lunch each day.
All campers need to bring their own water bottle with their name on it.
• We will not be offering camp lunches. An afternoon snack will be provided, and concession cards are available for purchase to use at the pool in the afternoon.
• Please note we are NOT a nut free facility.

SWIMMING
• Each camper will be required to pass a water safety test prior to swimming in the pool. Children identified as non-swimmers on the “About My Child Information Sheet” will not be tested and will automatically receive a blue band.
• The test is administered by the pool staff. It will determine what areas of the pool are safe for your child to swim in based on their swimming ability. Please advise the Camp Coordinator if you have any questions.
• Once a camper has taken the swim test, they will receive a colored bracelet to wear when swimming.
Yellow: Permitted to swim everywhere.
Pink: Can swim where they can stand/touch.
Blue: Must wear a life jacket.
• Each camper should bring a swimsuit, towel, sunscreen, and goggles (if they would like) every day for swimming. Each item must be clearly marked with the name of the child. Each child must have their own bottle of sunscreen.
• If a camper (or at a parent’s request) does not want to swim, they may stay inside the camp room where they may take a nap or read a book. NO electronic devices will be permitted during this time.
Please apply sunscreen before each camper is dropped off at camp. We will reapply sunscreen when we are going to the pool. Each camper, 3rd grade and younger, will have sunscreen applied by a counselor. Campers 4th grade and older will be permitted to apply their own sunscreen under the supervision of a counselor.

ILLNESS, MEDICATIONS, EMERGENCIES
Illness: Parents will be notified if their child exhibits signs of illness (fever, vomiting, diarrhea, etc.) and will need to be picked up from camp. The camper will not be eligible to return to camp until they are 24 hours symptom free or have been released by a doctor. Parents will be notified of any presence or outbreak of illness.
Medications: A Summer Camp Coordinator will administer medication to children with a completed medication form. A prescription medication will not be administered if we do not have on file an “Administration of Medication” form from the doctor on record. DO NOT send any medication to Summer Camp with your child. All medication must be delivered to the Coordinator on duty.
Emergencies: In the case of a medical emergency the staff is directed to call 911 IMMEDIATELY and then notify the parent. An incident report will be completed for any incident and a copy will be given to the parent. A staff member certified in CPR and First Aid is on duty at all times.

BEHAVIOR POLICY: Absolutely no bullying will be tolerated.
Behavior: Students enrolled in the Summer Camp program are expected to follow rules of good behavior and treat one another with courtesy and respect. Discipline will be handled with kindness, consistency, and understanding with the rules being made very clear with each camper. However, to assist counselors with inappropriate behavior, progressive discipline guidelines have been established. These procedures are to ensure the safety and welfare of all participating children and staff.
• Our expectation is to assist children in making appropriate choices, but when necessary the following steps will be taken:
-(Level 1) Verbal correction or warning.
-(Level 2) Removal from current activity and a verbal notification to parent that this is a Level 2 behavior problem.
-(Level 3) Meeting with Camp Coordinator, and discipline form given to the parent.
-(Level 4) Meeting with Camp Director, discussion with the parent, child will be excluded from the program for one day, and a discipline form will be given to the parent.
-(Level 5) Removal from the program.

MISCELLANEOUS
• It is our desire to have a 10:1 ratio for campers to counselors. All campers will need to be signed in and out each day by an adult. Only those listed on the camper’s information sheet will be permitted to pick up a child. Campers are not permitted to walk home by themselves. Should an emergency arise where someone other than those listed on the form need to pick up a camper, the parent will need to call the front desk at 513.821.5200 with the necessary information.
Dress: The majority of our activities are held outside. Please be sure your child is dressed weather-appropriate each day. Tennis shoes are recommended for daily wear, but flip flops or sandals may be worn. Please put your child’s name on every item they bring to camp, including their water bottle.
Photo Policy: Pictures taken at the camp will be used for the end of the year celebration and may be used in city publications. If you prefer your child not have his/her picture taken please give this information to the Camp Coordinator.
Personal Items: Electronic devices will only be permitted until 9:00 a.m. or after 5:00 p.m. during the Summer Camp day. Anyone bringing such items to camp is doing so at their own risk. The Summer Camp staff will not be responsible for the safety of these items.
Money: The Summer Camp staff is not responsible for money kept by campers. The staff cannot be held responsible if your child decides to “share” with other children.
Parent Concerns: Parent comments, concerns, suggestions (both positive and constructive) are welcome at any time. Please contact Recreation Director, Rachel Leininger by email at rleininger@wyomingohio.gov or by calling 513-842-1359 (office) or 859-314-7357 (cell).

IMPORTANT CONTACT INFORMATION
Wyoming Recreation Center
9940 Springfield Pike, Cincinnati, OH 45215
513-821-5200

Stephanie Stoppenhagen, Summer Camp Coordinator
513-679-4643
sstoppenhagen@wyomingohio.gov

Jennifer Pospisil, Recreation Supervisor
513-679-4648
jpospisil@wyomingohio.gov